Mindfulness All Party Parliamentary Group

The Mindfulness All Party Parliamentary Group (MAPPG) has been formally reinstated following reinstated following its dissolution at the General election. The group’s AGM was held in Portcullis House on Tuesday 30th June and two new co-chairs were elected: Jessica Morden, Labour MP for Newport East, and Tim Loughton, Conservative MP for East Worthing and Shoreham.


Of the previous co-chairs, Conservative MP Tracey Crouch was recently appointed Minister for Sport, meaning that she can no longer be a member of an APPG, and unfortunately Chris Ruane of Labour and Lorely Burt of the Lib Dems lost their seats in the election.


The final draft of the Mindful Nation UK Report – the culmination of an inquiry focusing on the policy areas of health, education, criminal justice and the workplace – has been formally approved by the Mindfulness APPG and adopted as their policy document. Due to the General Election and its implications, the public launch of the report has been delayed. However the interim report is available.


The report represents a huge amount of work by over 20 experts in the field, including several professors from five universities. It confers, we hope, a sober and considered voice upon the cause for mindfulness in the UK.Swoosh